The NHS System

The NHS is a complex system of organisations. The 2012 Health and Social Care Act abolished some parts of the NHS and created new ones. 

NHS Kernow 
(Clinical Commissioning Group)

Children's services
Community services
Continuing healthcare
Learning disabilities
Maternity and newborn
Mental health
Primary medical services (as delegated by NHS England)
Urgent and emergency hospital care 

NHS England 
(Commissioning Board Area team)

Military health
Prison health
Specialised services
All dentist services
Community opthalmology 
Community pharmacy
Health visiting
Sexual assault referral
NHS Property Services NHS Estates (including community hospitals

Public Health England and locally
within Cornwall Council and the 
Council of the Isles of Scilly

Emergency planning for pandemics
Health intelligence
Health Protection Agency
Social marketing to improve health
Accident prevention
Drug, alcohol and tobacco services
Healthy child programme
Healthy lifestyles including exercise and diet
Mental health promotion and suicide prevention
NHS Health Check
Oral health
Reducing birth defects 
Reducing excess winter deaths
Sexual health
Workplace health

The best way to understand the relationships between different parts is to look at this diagram.NHS In England